Who Are We?

The Council of Elizabeth Fry Societies of Ontario

Who Are We?

The Council of Elizabeth Fry Societies of Ontario acts as the regional voice in Ontario for women, Two-Spirit, nonbinary and gender diverse individuals who are or have been criminalized, or are at risk of becoming criminalized. Our services also extend to individuals who are transitioning back into the community and are seeking independence, support and community.

The sun setting through a dense forest.

What do we do?

Our council monitors the conditions for both provincially and federally sentenced women and gender diverse individuals in prison via visits to jails and director contact with prisoners. We provide a voice of advocacy for improvements to these conditions. CEFSO is involved in several government task groups centered around gendered issues and the agencies we represent.

We also seek to foster a strong focus on public education, frequently providing talks at schools, universities and businesses about women and gender diverse individuals in the criminal justice system.

Our council consists of eight Elizabeth Fry locations across Ontario:

  • Hamilton
  • Kitchener (region of Waterloo)
  • Ottawa
  • Toronto
  • Barrie (Simcoe County)
  • Sudbury
  • Thunder Bay
  • Peterborough

Each member society is represented at council by the Executive Director, and one member of their Board of Directors. With the goal of providing gendered, culturally sensitive and trauma-informed programs and support, every member society works to develop their own teams and programs highlighting the unique needs of each location. More details on the specific programs offered by each location can be found at their sites.

Scroll to Top